iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I have a few questions about harvesting timber

Started by neckbeard, June 17, 2012, 06:08:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

neckbeard

Hello, I just signed up because my mom has 37 acres of wooded property that we need to learn how to manage. Dad passed away a few years back, so she needs a little help. We were considering harvesting some of the timber on the property, but I have few questions I'd like to ask before I contact a consultant. I've been reading up on the process a bit, but I'm completely new to the whole thing. Sorry if some of the questions sound silly.

1. Is it a good time to harvest timber at the moment?

I've heard that the timber market fluctuates quite a bit, and that it's pretty closely tied to new home sales. I wouldn't mind selling if timber prices are a down a little bit, but something like 30% would be too much to eat.

2. The property isn't surveyed, but we have a basic idea where the property lines are. Will the loggers harvest on the property if we set a reasonable distance from the edges of the property to harvest from?

It would be pretty expensive to have a survey done.

3. Can we get a mix of selective harvesting and clear cut?

There's a low area I'd like to clear cut to put in a fishing pond, but I'd like to keep the rest of the property forested.

thecfarm

neckbeard,welcome to the forum. We don't mind so called silly questions. That's what we are here for.
#1  The market is down in my area,BUT it depends on what kind of wood and the grade,meaning how good your wood is,too.
#2  is kinda scary. You want to get the most from your land,but you don't want to cut over the line either. I had a guy that bought a piece of land that borders mine. He thought he owned road frontage somehow. Does a neighbor know the lines?
#3  You should be able to do what you want,it's your harvest. Within the state laws.
A forester should really be called to help you out. They can save you alot of maoney and alot of grief.