iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Checking Bearings

Started by WayRiver, June 12, 2012, 11:58:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WayRiver

Hi all.

Im new to sawing (for a month been running a used hobby mill (a solid 13 hp 20 foot manual band mill made in Eastern Ontario...company no longer in business))   

Last two logs I cut (one red pine, one white pine) were "wavy".   Second log was cut a couple days after the first log and with a fresh blade.  (resharpened by old owner).

I have been told that I should check my bearings. The shaft for each band wheel is supported on two pillow blocks with bearings.   

Questions:   Is there an easy way to check for bearing wear?  Will a metal straight edge across the band wheels tell me?  (I have one)  Will bearing wear only show up under load....or does it show up when free wheeling?  Is the only way to check the bearings is take them out?

The saw blade appears to be tracking well even under load.  The band wheels don't feel "sloppy".

The mill is set up an hour away at our bush property and not readily available to try things. I need to take all I need to work on it.   

I go back in a couple days and was hoping to go prepared

Comments welcome

hackberry jake

I would take the band off and try wiggling the wheels. But my guess is not enough set on your band.
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

js2743

Try a new Blade first, Most all post on here recommends a new blade to begin trouble shooting with wavy cuts.

york

Albert

bandmiller2

River,bearings are checked by feel, sound or boath.Remove the band grasp the wheel top and bottom,feel for play[just in the bearing] spin the wheels and listen,and feel for roughness.Good idea when the mill is new or in good shape to feel so you know what play is normal.As the guys have said chances are its the band. Frank C.