iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How much productivity gain from converting manual mill to hydraulic?

Started by WoodenHead, June 20, 2012, 09:43:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoodenHead

I have a WM LT28 and I've been sawing on and off for a few months now.  Although I can be mobile, we're setup stationary right now.  With an off-bearer and the right sized logs (16"-18" seems to work best for me) at times we can reach the production numbers that are suggested by WM.  Clamping and turning are the slowest tasks by far, then comes leveling, loading logs, making the cut, determining cutting depth, and finally head return.  The off-bearer up this point has been able to keep up removing labs, edging and finished boards as well as clamping and rotating.

Now to my question.  Recently I've been contemplating adding hydraulics to speed things up.  I've read various posts about mods made to manual mills.  I can see a how I could add a hydraulic log turner and/or a two plane clamp, toe rollers, a log loader as well as hydraulic back stops.  The question is:  Will mods to a manual mill really increase my productivity?

I've read posts where some (of considerable wisdom) have recommended simply to trade in the manual mill for a hydraulic, rather than trying to convert it to hydraulic.  I would like to understand why this is recommended over modifying a manual mill.

In my case the cost difference between the LT28 (manual) and LT35 (with hydraulics) was about $6000.  I almost changed my mind after the 30 day trial period to upsize to the LT35 and I have mixed feelings as to whether I should have or not.  It still seems cheaper to me to try to modify the LT28 to give the hydraulic features of the LT35.  Taking things beyond the LT35 level I can understand the wisdom of trading in.

So, for those of you who have done conversions from manual to hydraulic (even if it is not a woodmizer), do you notice the difference in output in a day or week?     

pineywoods