iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Left over Shindaiwa 490

Started by Riprarin, June 06, 2012, 02:50:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Riprarin

Hi,Everybody. I am new to the forum and want a saw for cutting 12in fallen and standing trees around my property. I would like to know if a Shindaiwa 490 (47.9 cc)  from the dealer would be a good choice for $400.00.   Thank You.

Ward Barnes

Quote from: Riprarin on June 06, 2012, 02:50:18 PM
Hi,Everybody. I am new to the forum and want a saw for cutting 12in fallen and standing trees around my property. I would like to know if a Shindaiwa 490 (47.9 cc) With a die cast engine would be worth buying new from the dealer for $400.00  Thank You.

Howdy and Welcome to the forum.  I have no knowledge of the Shindaiwa brand, however, it would seem to me that for that kind of money you could buy either a new or used Stihl in the same engine size and have a well known manufacturer with a world-wide network of dealers and parts availability.

God Bless, Ward and Mary.
7 year old Stihl MS 390.  New Stihl trim saw MS 250.  Kubota BX 2200 tractor.  2005 F150 4X4.
Dull chains cause accidents.  Accidents cause shorter life spans.
You don't sharpen a chain when it gets dull.  You sharpen a chain to keep it from getting dull.

Riprarin

Hello and Thank You. The on sale price of a Stihl MS250C-BE is $399.95, Husqvarna 445 is $429.99 and an Echo CS-450P IS $459.95 +13% TAX.

Clam77

Die-casting really has nothing to do with how a chainsaw runs as long as QA and tolerances are kept up at the factory level. 

From everything I've heard about Shindaiwa equipment, it's fairly good quality.  On the other hand- you're best off to look at dealer support in your area.  If the only dealer is a place like ACE hardware or box store, you're better off spending a little more and getting a better known brand of saw.