iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

breaking blades

Started by xlogger, May 19, 2012, 07:03:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

xlogger

I broke two blades yesterday sawing cedar and not hitting nothing. I don't keep up with how many times I sharpen the blades but guess not more than 3-4 times each. This seem to be normal on the breaking. I run the bands at 1200 pounds on a TK2000. I'm pretty new at sharpening so it a good chance the problem is me. I don't think I'm grinding too much on the sharpening but not sure. Also I don't think I run it too fast and on the gauge I just run it a little above 0 near the 1 mark. Also I'm pretty sure I've not broke a new blade. Before I look at getting a different blades, anyone got a suggestion to try first?
Timberking 2000, Turbo slabber Mill, 584 Case, Bobcat 773, solar kiln, Nyle L-53 DH kiln

ladylake

Things to check

Worn v belts, make sure the blade isn't touching tne wheel
Adjust the guide roller flange about 3/16 to 1/4 inch behind the blade when it is fully tensioned.
Run 1/4 " down pressure
Put on a good chip deflector, a lot of bark and sawdust running between the blade and guide rollers and the drive wheel doesn't help blade life. 

Some brands of blades will have more flex life than others.   Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

slider

xlogger this may not be the case with you but i was using the wrong cam on my sharpener for a while . it was not following the profile as it should.the difference was small but i was breaking blades going and coming.i would make light passes but still had problems.changed cam and things improved.good luck  al
al glenn

Migal