iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Nice to meet everybody!

Started by cpdunit1, April 13, 2012, 02:34:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cpdunit1

Just thought id drop in and introduce myself. I am very new to milling but have had a passion for it ever since I was a youngen and helped my dad cut down a few trees on our farm and haul them to a mill 40 miles away. I still have the walnut gun cabinet he built out of the wood which he gave me for my 12th birthday! Ok so I been looking and researching extensively, on different mills for about 3 years.I decided last month that I was going to build a mill so that I would also gain the know how of how my mill will operate, making it a little easier to pin point problems on breakdowns. well decent parts are either expensive or hard to round up. I wanted to build a mill that my father (who passed away 3 years ago at the age of 59) would be proud of! Well to make a long story longer, while looking for used band wheels to start and build my mill around, I stopped by a local mill owner using a newer woodmizer  I believe to be the lt70 he had an old mill down at the end of his lot that he had taken out of service 5 years earlier she wasnt pretty and she will need to be stripped down and restored, but I figured in the long run it will be cheaper than if I built my own mill! so after some story swaping a hand shake and $500.00 I am now the proud owner of a woodmizer lt40 super I will be eligible for retirement in 7 yrs at the ripe age of 48 so until then Im sure I will be asken alot of questions here! Thanks for reading promise it wont be so long winded next time lol!

WildDog

Welcome and congratulations on your new mill....retirement at 48yrs, that sounds good, i'd only have 1yr to go :)
If you start feeling "Blue" ...breath    JD 5510 86hp 4WD loader Lucas 827, Pair of Husky's 372xp, 261 & Stihl 029

terrifictimbersllc