iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

poulan pro saws?

Started by hisliptree3, April 09, 2012, 08:39:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hisliptree3

hi, I'm looking at buying my first gas chainsaw. I'm interested in a forestry career and i think its time to learn how to properly run and maintenance one. i have about 3-5 years experience running my dads husky and jonsreds saws. but any way recently i saw a poulan pro 20inch for 179$ which i thought was cheap. a buddy of mine has the 18 inch poulan pro and loves it, he says he's had it for 3 years and it runs like a champ.

so does anyone own a 16-20 inch poulan, and do you think its a good starter saw? I've got a 2 acre stand to thin out and i don't want to do it by hand saw, thats for sure! thank you for any info regarding theses saws or any other saw recommendations.

beenthere

If you are familiar with the Husky and Jonsreds, then why not get one of those?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

shelbycharger400

the poulan will work for you.  consider it a cheap throw away tho!
poulan's quality is not what it usto be!
your best bet is to find a used model from the late 90's,  you can pick them up for 50 to 100.      i pop'd a 3 wk old pouland earlier this year just cutting pine, mainly just brush.   sad when im using 30 year old saws and they still take a pounding!

Cutting Edge

Like shelbycharger said, its a throw away saw.  It may come with a 20 in bar, but don't expect it to pull that much chain thru wood very well.  Those box store saws just don't have the torque.  Expect to replace the fuel lines with ones that will take this new gas.

Like mentioned before, look at something used.  For what you'll pay for the Poulan, you could pick up a nice used Husky w/ more power, better reliability, and dealer support.  There is peace of mind when you can get parts for your saw...even new ones break down.

Best of luck in your decision