iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stihl MS362 Vrs Husqvarna 357xp

Started by Timbercruiser, April 08, 2012, 04:49:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timbercruiser

Hi everyone I am new to cutting and larger saws. I would like to buy a good pro saw for felling and bucking here in North Ontario canada. My choice is between a sthil ms 362 or a husky 357xp. What is a better saw ? I need your help please. I can save $150 bucks on a sthil with a free case and other stuff. The husqvarna is more moeny but is it a better saw please help me out ???  They make a 562xp now with autotune carb ? not sure on this either.

scouter Joe

Hi timbercruiser and welcome to the forums . Where in Northern Ontario are you from ?
I always tell my customers that any of the big 3 will be good Husky Jonsered or Stihl . Far more important is the dealer you are buying it from . If you are cutting a lot make sure you get a professional model . If you are just cutting a bit of firewood then a lower priced saw will work for you . scouter Joe

Timbercruiser

I live in Thunder bay ont. Both those saws the MS362 stihl and the Husqvarna are pro saws. Some people say a stihl burns less gas ?  Most cutters in BC seem to run Stihl saws ? the Stihls are cheaper but all the Dealers here sell both. You seem to get more free stuff with the Stihl but all my small saws have been Huskys.

Ianab

Very comparable saws. You would be happy running either.

So it comes down to factors like cost, dealer support, freebies to sweeten the deal, how the saw "feels" in your hands, do you like the dealer etc

If the Stihl was $150 less and had freebies with it, I'd be going that way. If the Husky dealer had a better deal, I'd be tempted that way.

It's the whole Ford vs Chevy thing, there is no really "wrong" choice, get the deal that you like the best.

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

John Mc