iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

gas to electric motor?

Started by xlogger, March 23, 2012, 06:54:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

xlogger

Well now that I finally got my sawmill going and busy I got a complaint from my neighbor threw the woods about 150 yds away from the mill. The noise from the gas engine. My first idea that come to mind was to show him the property line but I said I'd look into what I can do. I'm not sure what the county would say if he call me in. My land is in farm zone and I'm under farm tax here. But maybe to keep the peace how many HP electric motor would it take to run a TK2000 and what electric would I need if any one of you knows? This I know would stop me from doing any portable sawing, but I really don't plan on doing any. My mill would be about 175 ft from my breaker box in the house. By the way I've been sawing here for going on 3 years now and he just moved in about 6 months ago.
Timberking 2000, Turbo slabber Mill, 584 Case, Bobcat 773, solar kiln, Nyle L-53 DH kiln

Ianab

I see the TK2000 has the option of a 20hp Electric, so that's the sort of power your are looking at.

Fitting / adapting a better muffler to the engine could reduce the noise and be a much cheaper option? It might be enough to appease the neighbour if it was 5db quieter?

Ian

Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Bibbyman

A call into TimberKing would be your best investment as they likely can or have produced the same mill in electric and could advise you on the conversion and maybe even supply you with a kit of sorts to swap out the engine.

I'm not sure what HP range your thinking but most likely it'll need to be 3 phase and you most likely don't have 3 phase power to your house.