iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A newbies need for advice

Started by ugajerry, March 01, 2012, 12:18:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ugajerry

Hey yall! My blood gets pumpin everytime I read stuff on this forum so I decided to ask a quick question...I am a Georgia boy born and raised but now living in Dallas, TX.  I have been a custom carpenter for the past six years and I love every second of it. 
I am planning on getting into sawmilling and want to get a bandsaw mill but I know that is way out of my budget for now.  SOO I have decided to try to get a chainsaw and start milling with that...
I have about $6-700 to work with and was wondering if I could get advice on recommended chainsaw, chainsaw size, recommended mill, and if i should just wait and save somemore bc $6-700 is sorta impossible.  ok thanks yall! Be Blessed!
"What the poor want is not aid, but jobs - real jobs, not subsidized ones.  This is the dignity and self-reliance they deserve"

Overlength

Welcome to the forum. I'am new too to forum, but have been reading a while and love it. I have a Woodmizer mill just south of Dallas. Cut Mesquite, Cedar,W Oak,etc. Also my day job is sales/purchasing in the wholesale hardwood lumber buisness. In answer to your question, you are going to need a good chainsaw either way, and would highly suggest a good Stihl pro model. As far as a chainsaw mill, I have no experience with that.
Woodmizer LT30, Solar Kiln 400 bf

beenthere

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

CalebL

Quote from: ugajerry on March 01, 2012, 12:18:08 PM
Hey yall! My blood gets pumpin everytime I read stuff on this forum so I decided to ask a quick question...I am a Georgia boy born and raised but now living in Dallas, TX.  I have been a custom carpenter for the past six years and I love every second of it.