iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need sawmill info

Started by Matt sawsalot, February 11, 2012, 10:34:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt sawsalot

I need to get a sawmill for under $5,000, what mills are out there for that price range? I know about the logosol but I need something I can pull behind my truck or 4wheeler not real crazy about it.  I'm torn with what type saw  to get, looking to get pro's and con's on blade type, chainsaw and band mill type.  I'm a good welder and have all the tools to build my own mill but not sure if it is worth it with all the time it would take to build it and get all the bugs worked out.  Maybe someone knows about some plans some where out there or could guide me through a build.   I need it to mill all the lumber to build a house about 800 Sqft.  I'm in NC now if that helps.  Please let me know boys if you can put me in the direction. Thanks

-Matt

WDH

Look at a used Wood-mizer LT15 for that money.  If you can't find one, buy a new one, build your house, then sell it for almost as much as you paid for it.  You will love it, and probably decide to keep it.  Some call it a hobby mill, but only because it is manual and not as fast as the hydraulic mills.  It will cut just as well as any mill, only slower because of the log handling and turning.  Since you are a good welder, you could fabricate a trailer to haul it on or you could buy the trailer package from Wood-mizer.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

paul case

In my opinion, the ez boardwalk jr is probably the toughest mill you can buy in that price range and comes portable real easy. PC
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)
2013 LT40SHE25 and Riehl edger,  WM 94 LT40 hd E15. Cut my sawing ''teeth'' on an EZ Boardwalk
sawing oak.hickory,ERC,walnut and almost anything else that shows up.