iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Can this blade be repaired?

Started by Riggs, February 06, 2012, 04:04:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Riggs

I'm pretty new to this, and this may have been covered elsewhere, but can this blade be repaired? I was thinking tig it, grind it flat, sharpen and set it. I work in a machine shop, so the tig and grind is no problem, just don't know if it would work. As you can see it's a brand new blade and it chaps me to think about having to trash it. :-\

Every man's life ends the same way. It is only the details of how he lived and how he died that distinguish one man from another.~Ernest Hemingway

Norwood ML 26

beenthere

Are we to be looking at one tooth missing, or more than that?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Riggs

Every man's life ends the same way. It is only the details of how he lived and how he died that distinguish one man from another.~Ernest Hemingway

Norwood ML 26

NMFP

I would just grind the band and then bend that tooth straight so that it doesnt affect the surface of the wood.  Believe it or not, I sharpen bands with 10-20 teeth missing for pallet companies.  I wouldn't waste any time trying to weld and set because most likely, it will cause other issues.

Hope this helps.

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Generally when this happens to one of my blades, I just pack it up and send it back to WM RE-SHARP with the rest of my dull blades. If it needs replaced, they replace it. If it can be used again, they sharpen it and send it back to me with the rest of my re-sharped blades.
I do not spend a lot of time on a tooth or 3, I let WM figure that out while I'm milling lumber.  :)
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

terrifictimbersllc

Nothing wrong with that if you can sharpen yourself. Except you have to put some money under the blade for the tooth fairy.  :o