iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduction:

Started by Fred Bryant, January 30, 2012, 12:29:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fred Bryant

Introduction of myself:

I am a rank beginner, meaning that I have built nothing. I found a book on timber framing ( Building the Timber Frame House by Benson/Gruber ) and it sparked my interest. I do not have any of the proper tools, or training, but went out and bought four 8x8 PT posts. I cut them into useless chunks trying my hand at this, and I think I am hooked.

I still need time to read and digest this forum, but my final interest is building a timber framed shop. I think I will start with a small shed.

My job is intermittent ( I am on the road for 8 or 9 months, then I have a month or so off ), so I have some time off coming up. I learn best by doing hands on, so I am also thinking about a class or workshop. As I said, I need some time to digest this forum, but any pointers in the correct direction would be appreciated ( books, DVDs, where one would take a class, tools, ... )

Thx's, Fred ( jyblood@nwi.net )

Carpenter

The Sobon books are pretty good.  Steve Chappel, A Timber Framer's Workshop is also a very good book to own.  The Timber Framers Guild holds several workshops annually around the country.  Check out their websight and you may be able to find one near you.  Where are you from?  Welcome to the forum.  There are other organizations around as well that offer classes or workshops on timber framing.  Good luck with your endeaver!

dukndog

Welcome to the FF Fred!!  There's a great knowledge base here on the forums. There are many books that have a wealth of info. Also as mentioned the Timber framers Guild has a few "free" downloads on joints and such. As for schools, I'm sure someone will chime in soon to help you.
Where are you located?

Regards,
DnD
WM LT-15G25 w/PwrFeed, Mahindra 3510, Husky 385xp, Stihl MS261 and a wife who supports my hobby!!

zelpatsmot