iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Member Introduction

Started by jpsheb, January 27, 2012, 07:48:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jpsheb

Hello, I am relatively new to this site (this is my first post, at least!).

I am an aspiring tree-farmer, forester, and low-impact logger with 75-acres w/ 13-acres of 14-year old southern yellow pines and the rest in mixed hardwoods. 

I've been spending the two years since purchasing the land learning everything I can about trees, forestry, logging, and equipment.  At the same time, I've been slowling building up my capabilities--equipment-wise and now have a Kubota M6040, a passle of chainsaws, a couple of chainsaw mills, a band-saw mill, and an assortment of arborist-gear, rigging gear, and safety gear. 

My background is as a mechanical engineer (licensed PE) and naval officer.  I worked, saved, and research for many years before making this jump, and when I did, was eager to start selling logs to the mill!  However, the market down-turn was a blessing in disguise for me, since I at least had the sense to not try harvesting and sellling in such a poor market.  Instead, it has given me time to learn, practice, learn more, and start the uphill battle regarding having all the right tools for the job and knowing how to use them.  All while maintaining and improving the land. 

Right now, I'm at the point where I need to do some clearing out in the pines (1" to 2" pine & hardwood saplings need to go) prior to a commercial thinning.  So it's time for a clearing saw!

jdtuttle

Welcome to the forum. Look around & you'll find a wealth of information & good people.
jim
Have a great day

WDH

You might want to use herbicide on the hardwood so that it does not re-sprout.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Jeff