The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

TimberKing Sawmills

Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools

Forest Products Industry Insurance

Norwood Industries Inc.

Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine

Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL

Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA

Council Tool

Baker Products

Forestry Forum Tool Box

Author Topic: Trailer Hitch on a Skid Steer???  (Read 5877 times)

Offline Tdawg

Trailer Hitch on a Skid Steer???
« on: January 20, 2012, 10:05:24 AM »
Hey Guys,
I'm thinking about building a kind of hybrid log arch/skidding winch (I'm a welder/fitter by trade). Anyway, I have a Cat skid steer and it would be a lot nicer to pull the unit from the rear than using the attachment plate and dragging it while driving in reverse. Has anyone added a trailer hitch to the rear end of a skid steer? And if so has it caused any problems?

Thanks.

Offline Holmes

• Senior Member x2
  • 1840 house
Re: Trailer Hitch on a Skid Steer???
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 04:03:04 PM »
The back end of my ASV has a place for a hitch built in.
Think like a farmer.

Offline Buck

• Senior Member x2
  • Another "traveling man"
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 06:31:04 PM »
Dawg, just watch your hyd temp....I have run into this plowing and drum chopping(dozers). Just a suggestion, but I'd try it.
Respect is earned. Honesty is appreciated. Trust is gained. Loyalty is returned.

Live....like someone left the gate open

Offline Tdawg

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2012, 01:41:25 PM »
Done deal, I'm gonna give it a try.

Thanks

Offline Bobus2003

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2012, 02:28:29 PM »