iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My Grandma's rocking chair

Started by Jeff, January 11, 2012, 12:05:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff

I have the rocking chair that my dad was rocked in as a baby, as well as all of his other siblings. It came into our house when I was in my teens when it was given to my Dad by his oldest Sister Lena. It was covered in several coats of paint and Dad had said it had at least 6 sets of rockers on it that he knew of. It was our father and son goal at that time to strip it and refinish it, but I ended up moving away from home as soon as I graduated high school, and we never got  it finished, but had a good start on it. The rockers then were in pretty poor shape.

Well, time went on and my sisters got together one day and kidnapped the rocker. The plan was to have it professionally stripped, then my brother-in-law was going to build new rockers for it and finish it. I heard about it after it was done.

After Dad and then Mom died, it was decided that I would get the rocker. Its a great old chair. Solid, comfortable to sit in, in fact, its my chair of choice if I happen to have a back ache or something. The thing about it is, is the rockers. My brother-in-law was obviously not a woodworker.  They appear to be pine, one is different shape from the other, and they are different colors not to mention that he made flat spots on the bottom. Why? I guess because the pine he used was so soft. I can't imagine he made them that way, but I suppose anything is possible with Butch. He might have uses one of the old ones for a pattern, including the wear. DUH. So you can imagine how it rocks.

At some point I am going to go visit Burlkraft for a few days and take the rocker with me so we can build some new rockers for it. What I don't know is, what the style should be. The rockers on it just don't seem like they are of the correct style let alone all the other issues with them. 

Any thoughts?

Just call me the midget doctor.