iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawmill hours?

Started by MapleNut, January 01, 2012, 01:23:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MapleNut

Hi, new to F.F.  Just bought a 2005 WM LT40HD with a 28hp Kohler. It has aprox 1200hrs on it. Seems to run OK, was told maint. was done regularly, and looks to be in pretty good shape. Wondering how many hours an engine/mill will last on average?
Thanks
2005 WM LT40HDG28, 5500 IRON MULE, 272,262,046, & A PIC!

Bibbyman

Welcome to the Forum.  Congratulations on your new to you mill.

I've got no direct experience with that engine so I'll let others have at that one.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

Jim_Rogers

Find a local Kohler engine shop to you. Ask him how many hours on the machine should the valves be adjusted. And adjust them when they say that they should be adjusted.

As valves wear they get tighter, according to my mechanic and you need to keep them adjusted right to make them last.

I lost my first engine from not adjusting the valves. This one we have done at least twice and it's probably due again.

Proper maintenance will make it last a long time.

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Hello Maplenut, Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

I have the same mill and engine that you do. Got mine last year. It's a 2009. So I'll be waiting on follow-ups on your question.
We'll both learn something.
So far I do exactly what the manuel recommends and have had no problems with 315 hours on it.

Good post and again.....welcome to the forum. You'll lawn a lot.

Take care buddy!
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

pineywoods

Quote from: MapleNut on January 01, 2012, 01:23:15 PM
Wondering how many hours an engine/mill will last on average?
Thanks

Don't know about the kohlers, but the briggs on my manual lt40 finaly was swapped out at a little over 6000 hours. Was still running but kinda tired..