iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

who has experience with mobile dimension mill

Started by woodcrazy, December 23, 2011, 10:57:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodcrazy

have you used both their trailers? Is it practical to mill aspen 12 ft x 20 in  by one man?     woodcrazy
I miss the milling -- may try planeing -- or developing my Minnesota lakeshore

DanG

Hi, and welcome! :)  I have a MD 128.  That size log is a piece of cake to that mill, and operating alone is no problem.  Mine is on a trailer, but hasn't been moved in 9 years.  Mine is a 1988 model, and has the factory trailer, but it takes a little time to set up and level.  It is not what I would choose for the typical mobile operation because of this, but it makes a nice stationary mill.  I have no experience with the newer trailers.
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

Celeriac

Yep, what Dan said. Logs that size should be a piece of cake for the mill. Off bearing bigger chunks of lumber may require a little ingenuity if you're working solo.

I will admit that I have not used the loading system since we have a skid steer close by.  I have moved my mill several times and it's not a bad job once you get the hang of it. My plan is to install screw jacks on the four outside corners, which should greatly speed up the setup.

I am not sure about the differences in trailers. ???
Currently learning the ins and outs of a Mobile Dimension 128.
"What's that?"
"My sawmill."
"Looks like a VW ran into an antenna tower!"

woodcrazy

Thanks DanG and Celeriac for the info. I am thinking that I would like one of these. Presently I have no mill, but have in the past had a woodmizer hd, brandx, and timberking. I know aspen is easy to cut, but need something to be efficient for one man with a large supply.      woodcrazy

Magicman