iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First post: hobbyist band mill comparison

Started by kng, December 11, 2011, 07:16:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kng

What a great forum!  I am new to milling, but have toyed with the idea of purchasing a band mill for a while.  I own 100 acres of hardwood timberland that I use primarily for deer hunting.  I constantly have good trees fall or have to fall trees for various reasons.  I always end up sawing them up for fire wood, and I hate wasting them like that.  I live in a rural community and know several farmers that I'm sure would allow me to get a few fallen trees or those that they've cut from time to time.

The idea of being able to use this wood for other things really interests me.  The one thing I've noticed about the band saw mills is that it is very difficult to make a decision!  I just finished watching both the Wood Mizer and Timberking promotional DVDs.

Here is a comparision chart that I've made to help me make a decision:

PHOTOS MUST BE IN A FORESTRY FORUM GALLERY

The things that I don't like about the mills are as follows:

Woodmizer LZ10:  Deck seems very cheap.  Is it aluminum?  Not many upgrades available.
Woodmizer LZ15:  Not the cheapest mill on the list, and I don't think I like the hand crank.
Timberking 1220:  Not the cheapest mill on the list, hand crank.  The marketing/customer service doesn't seem as good as the Woodmizer.  Is the Franklin, GA shop still opened?
Woodland Mills HM126:  While I really like this mill, there is no local support, I haven't seen a single person who's owned one, and it's made in China.
Ez Boardwalk Junior:  Again, I worry about support being so far away.  I was impressed that Edward personally called me on Friday based on my inquiry on the webpage.
Lumber Smith:  I'm sure the quality of the wood from this mill isn't the best.  While the cheapest on the list, I wouldn't consider it best value.

Anything I missed?

thanks,
-Kyle