iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Best part of log for a mantel

Started by vfauto, December 07, 2011, 07:12:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vfauto

I am new to milling and a friend has some maple logs that he will give me, in exchange he wants two beams about 4or5 inches by 6or8 inches to make two mantles.What part of the log would be the best for this and how long should he let it dry before installing it? ???
The definition of insanity is to do the same things over and over and expect a different result!

pasaw

I would think you should box the heart as best as possible and it will take quite a while for them to dry due to the size

T Welsh

beenthere

Much of that sawing decision will depend on the size of the logs.
Any idea what size you might get to saw?
For drying you are likely talking about "years", not months.

Expect drying degrade and change in shape, so cutting over-size and then reshaping after drying should be in the plan when sawing the size.

I have a cherry mantel that size, and it was stored under a friends bed for about 25 years (he says) before he gave it to me. It has some checking but is a beauty and has remained stable on my fireplace for the last 43 years.

Myself, I wouldn't box the heart. Again, that will depend on the size of the logs.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

BandsawWarrior

I'd make it free of the heart centre.  A boxed heart mantel will crack and change shape the most.  Take a nice piece off the side of centre with some nice vertical grain.  It will still move a little as it dries but at least it won't open up with massive cracks. 

This has been my experience and we do make a lot of these.  We do however kiln dry then resaw back to square and staight. 
Tyler Hart
T&N Custom Sawmill

MesquiteSawyer