iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for lightweight pro-grade saw

Started by Engineer, November 24, 2011, 10:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Engineer

Hi guys,

It's been months since I've been on here.  Been working long days and three hours of driving back and forth to work each day, doesn't give me much time to even get online.

I've been cutting firewood with a Stihl MS361 for a couple of years now.  I love the saw, been using a 16" bar with Oregon chain and an 8-pin rim, it's fast and fun.

However - most of what I have been cutting for the past couple of years has been slabwood and larger logs - 12-30" diameter stuff.  Wood that was leftover from building my house, or dropped off when the town widened the road a few years back.  Now I'm back to harvesting actual standing trees, and find out that swinging that 361 around all the time when limbing is not fun after a few hours.  I also have only the one saw, and although I'm very careful about my cutting habits, I could always have a stupid attack and pinch a bar or need a second saw for some reason.  I also have a lot of smaller stuff to cut - mostly in the 3-6" range, and the bigger Stihl is almost too much saw to use on that little stuff.  Lot of white birch, sumac, soft maple and fire cherry.