iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Whats the best way to mill with a WM-LT40

Started by Peder McElroy, November 18, 2011, 11:42:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peder McElroy

Not new to milling,I have a Lucas 618 and Belsaw M24. But I am new to the bandsaw's. What is the best way to cut logs on the Woodmizer ? into cants or slab them and then edge them. My logs are mostly 18" to 20" in size.
Any information would sure help. Thanks Peder

zopi

Depends on what you are sawing for, grade sawing, you want the widest, cleares boards you can get, so you take the slabs and flitches, aiming to take the tension out if needed, get to a cant and saw the best face with each cut...or through amd through, which, if you have an edger and are not worried about grade can be pretty quick...it is alot of extra work to edge on the mill, so it may not be the best way...if I am just knocking 2x4 or 2x6 out of a log, Sometimes I just cut two inch slabs and sort them by width, then saw the final size out of the slabs paired by width...not the most efficient, but sometimes the easiest...
By and large though, bust em to cants, either of a specific size for the final size of lumber or as big as you can get for wide boards.
Got Wood?
LT-15G GO chassis added.
WM sharpener and setter
And lots of junk.

Bibbyman

Wood-Mizer comes with a lot of documentation – including sawing instructions.  They have a series of DVDs available too.  Also, training by Wood-Mizer is available.  Did you buy the mill new?

What zopi said, how you approach milling the log depends a lot on what you're trying to produce out of it.  Sawing specific dimension lumber such as 2x6s takes one approach, sawing for "grade" takes another, quarter sawing another,  making beams another, and so on. 

How you approach sawing depends a lot of how much support equipment you have (loaders, edger, etc.), how much labor you have available, how much room to maneuver and store things, etc.