iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

blade sharpener and setters

Started by aom, November 11, 2011, 01:50:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aom

Unfortunately I have no experience with the narrow bandsaw sharpener and setter set up. So could users please tell me the benefits and the not so good features of the different makes i.e. woodmizer, cooks timberking etc and  what are the differences of the various semi automatic setters. A further issue , has anybody by using homemade cams etc been able to convert a narrow bandmill sharpener to sharpen workshop bandsaw blades, thus being able to sharpen both types of band on one machine
regards AOM

Bibbyman

We got a Wood-Mizer CBN sharpener and dual tooth setter - manual crank - about a year ago.

Here is a link to the whole story.  Many others had comments as well.

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,42691.0.html
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

bandmiller2

AOM,the unit Bibby showed you is probibly the latest and greatest sharpener,but specialized and expensive.If you use just one brand and type of band their hard to beat, as A shaped wheel must be used for each gullet conformation.I have a Cooks Cats Claw sharpener, with which I'am well pleased.The Cooks will sharpen almost anything,I even sharpen the 3" wide Makita stellite tipped bandsaw bands.I'll be a happy old sawyer if I live long enough to wear out the Cats Claw.You want a sharpener that will clean the whole gullet and not just sharpen the face of the tooth.there are outher machines I'll let those that own one comment. Pretty much you get what you pay for. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

Chuck White

I also have a Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.

The thing I like the most about this unit is the power and the precision and completeness of the grind.