iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First Mobile Job

Started by 123maxbars, November 04, 2011, 09:06:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

123maxbars

Hello, just wanted to update the board on my first mobile sawmill job. I have a LT28 with the log deck package. I have had the mill for about two months now. I have stayed busy cutting logs that people bring to me and have made more from it that I thought I would. I placed a local add and never a day passes that my phone rings. But I have learned that out of every five people that call, two of them will actually either bring you logs, or show up to buy your lumber. I am a police officer so this is my hobby that more that pays for its self which was my goal. I have a good set up on my property with a drive way separate from my house that goes to my mill. I have a good shelter for it and a Kubota tractor with forks for log handling. Anyways, I did my first mobile job this week at farm a few miles from me. I charged the customer 250 per thous. He wanted random width 4x4 siding. I got there to find the logs were nicely stacked but that were on a down hill slope. I had to position my mill (which was the only place I could place it) above the logs. That meant as I winched them up on the mill they were not on level ground, it was light winching them up hill just to get them on the mill. And the customer was at work so I was out of luck and just had to deal with it. I got half his logs milled before I had to move to another pile and got all of them milled. Anyways i milled 1kboard feet for the guy, but had a terrible time loading them. Lesson learned was to tell the customer that level means level and dont have the logs staged down hill from the mill.  It was at least a 2 foot drop on elevation from where the mill was to the logs. I had a few logs fall off while trying to winch them on the deck. Anyways I learned a lot and enjoyed making money with my hobby despite the log placements. I told the guy I would come back and do the rest