iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Portable Mills

Started by island boy, September 19, 2011, 11:27:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

island boy

Hi all,
I am new to FF. Just found you guys on the net this morning as I was attempting to get info on portable milling. A little background about myself and my situation.... I live and work on an island off the coast of Maine. In the twenty or so years I have been here I have been fortunate to make a living as a builder/carpenter/contractor/property manager. Our island is very undeveloped one and quite peaceful, which is one of the reasons we chose to raise our family here.  Over the years the island has had many trees come down, some due to storms some to land clearing. Most of the hardwoods get used for cord wood while, unfortunately, most of the soft woods especially the pines have been left to rot. I have talked to mills on the mainland about their possible interest in the pines but they have said they can't be bothered with having to deal with the island. As a result I am considering hiring a portable sawyer or possibly purchasing a mill myself. Right now I have 30 or so white pines that are 24" to 38" in diameter 8' to 60' in length. Some have sat for a year or two some from this summer and some from last week. My questions are:
1. Is the wood in the trees that have been down still good and how long will it remain ok?
2. How do I go about deciding if purchasing a mill makes sense or whether i should just hire a portable mill?
3. If purchasing a mill makes sense, what brand Wood Mizer, Timber King, Baker etc and what model do you suggest?
Thanks for any info, suggestions, advise.

Magicman

First, Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   :)