iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Band or swingmill

Started by Bo-ona, September 09, 2011, 07:39:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bo-ona

I am new to the Foresty Forum and I have a question that has been addressed here before, but I want to address my specific circumstances.
I have been milling wood with a chainsaw mill, a logosol Timberjig.  Nice set-up for what it is, but I want to take milling to another level.  I am on the fence about a band or swingmill, I cut and split about 50 cords of firewood, and my log supplier is giving me way too nice of logs for firewood, 30+ inch white and red oaks, soft maple, etc.  I want to mill and make molding out of the wood I get.  I am also a cabinet maker as my hobby and know other cabinet shops that will buy my products.  I am starting off slow, but this could be bigger quickly.  Since I live so close to New York City, I would like the option of urban sawmilling. 
As far as sawmills go, I  like Baker and Peterson.  Any advice??

Buck

I have two Woodmizer LT-40 hyd mills. Since purchase of the second one I have often thought about selling/swapping around one of them for a swing mill. I wouldn't back away from anything then. You should consider a kiln also since you revealed your desire for end product.
Respect is earned. Honesty is appreciated. Trust is gained. Loyalty is returned.

Live....like someone left the gate open

paul case

my advise is see them run. get the basic idea of how they work and set up and the extra equipment necessary for each. find out the capabilities of the mills you like and see which one fits for what you are wanting to do. dont rule out other brands. i had made up my mind to buy one from a certian company and i changed my mind because i found a bigger mill with a cheaper price tag. i am glad i did too.

welcome to the forestry forum. tell us more about yourself.  pc
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)