iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Sawmill ordered and first load of logs, Pics,

Started by 123maxbars, August 26, 2011, 01:58:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

123maxbars

Ordered a Woodmizer LT28 today, with 25hp engine and log package. Should be here by first of Oct. I have been helping a friend on his WM LT 28 side/weekend business for the past year, and the bug has bit me and I am ready to start my own weekend/part time operation. I live in the mountains of Northeast Tn and plan on doing some mobile jobs and cutting orders from logs that I aquire. I will use my Kubota for loading logs and the winch that comes with it. I am a police officer by trade and have found that cutting logs is a  great stress reducer and is very enjoyable. My goal is to have the mill pay for its self (with a monthly payment of $200 I think that is a reasoanble expectation). This will be a part time weekend operation that I will operate from my farm. I have a half acre dedicated to my sawmill which will also be my log yard. I have erected a metal carport that is a A frame model, 20x12 that is ten foot at its highest point. I had the car port on my driveway but moved it when I got a bigger carport. I have it mounted to footers and plan on making it bigger. I also got my first load of free pine logs yesterday. Thanks for everyone's help on here, and hope to be sawying soon!

Sawyer/Woodworker/Timber Harvester
Woodmizer LT70 Super Wide, Nyle L53 and 200 kiln, too many other machines to list.
outofthewoods
Youtube page
Out of the

metalspinner

8) 8)

Sounds like you have a good plan in place and have had enough hands on experience to get off to a running start.

That carport looks familiar.  I just bought one to store some of my wood in.  Mine has the red roof, too. :)

Where abouts in east TN are you? Maybe I can contribute to your monthly payments some time. :D
I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

123maxbars

I am in Church Hill TN, about an hour from maryville,