iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Basswood burning you Maine guys?

Started by 711ac, July 23, 2011, 02:46:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

711ac

Noticed a post about Hemlock and the Maine guys jumped in on it so...                    I'm new to burning here in ME and got a bunch of Basswood that is easy to get at. I've been trying to get it out to release the better trees coming. It seems like "junk wood" at least for burning, but I thought about cutting a few cds for the "shoulder" season for my wood "gasser". I'm just woried that it'l burn like paper, fast and no heat. Any experience?

beenthere

711   Welcome to the forum
If you buck it to length and get it dry, then it will give you the most BTU's. And yes, it will burn faster than a harder wood like oak.
For an equal moisture content, might be carrying twice the volume of basswood to the burner than you would oak.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

SwampDonkey

Best used for kindling or early fall wood to take the morning chill off with a kitchen stove. ;)

Mom's uncle burned aspen in the kitchen stove all the time, had all kinds of it growing nearby that my uncle would cut and haul in the winter to the wood shed on sled with horse. Hauled in probably in April actually when snow was less deep. All down hill loaded. ;) Main heat was oil for 40 years.
"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

thecfarm

You can get heat from anything thing,even cedar,if it's dry. I have no bass wood so can not help you. I would try it,but have some "good" wood close by if it don't work out. I suppose this is a OWB? Should smother the fire out when no heat is needed. Might work out for you. I know I would try it.