iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to forum, what to charge for boards.

Started by nhhunter2010, July 23, 2011, 10:27:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nhhunter2010

Hello All,  I am new to the sawmill lifestyle.  I bought a mill in the end of May, and have been playing (cutting)  around the house.  I have a bunch of pine on my land.  I have been approached by town people to sell some of my very clean pine, I was wondering what the going rate is in the North East for clean pine. Or where I could look it up, I am aslo looking for different prices for the different species in the North East. (is there a standard somewhere that everyone works off of).
 I love this site, it has awnsered many questions that I had, and many I never thought of.    I have a Hudson Oscar 230 with the extension to cut 20' logs.  I love it, and with my  jobs schedule, it may be turning into a nice second income.

Magicman

First, Welcome nhhunter2010, to the Forestry Forum.

I seldom sell lumber, but when I do, I go to a building supply store and price their lumber.  For green/undried lumber, I like to be somewhere in the 75% range.  I like for the customer to get some sort of a bargain.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Bibbyman

It's kind of like my cousin's advice on how tight to tighten lug nuts.  "Tighten them until they twist off and then back off a little." 

I don't think you can compete with common size lumber.  But if you are supplying the customer with something he can't get somewhere else,  then you can charge more than what the lumber yards charge.

Pine?  I don't do pine so I don't have a clue.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

bandmiller2