iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Band thickness

Started by Forestry Man, July 06, 2011, 10:52:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Forestry Man

Quick question. I know that the common blade for bandmills is 1 1/4 x .042 or 1 1/2 x .042
Lets say I'm gonna saw small logs, sometimes up to 40 inch. Type of wood would be softwood like european fir, pine and aspen. Should I use same type of bands on these logs or should I get thinner one cause of the small logs. Thinner band is probably cheaper(can run smaller wheels and that decreases also the total length on band) but also not that strong. What would You suggest?

Banjo picker

Hello there Forestry Man,  I am no blade expert by any means and therefore will only tell you what I use...I have used .042,  .043, and .050  all 1 1/2"...they all cut fine, but I am partial to the .050's ...what is common on one mill may not be common on another...Mills that run smaller engines tend to use the lighter gague blades...

An observation that I have made from your current and past posts:  If you were to build or buy a mill that used very thin bands and attempt to cut 40 inch logs, in all likely hood you would have to gun barrel cut it...which would leave your stationary roller a good ways away from the log...If the mill is not set up near perfect, you will probably get some nasty lumber ....On large logs like that a heaver band is your friend...

Keep reading , there is lots of info on here to help you make an informed decision..Tim
Never explain, your friends don't need it, and your enemies won't believe you any way.

Forestry Man

Quote from: Banjo picker on July 06, 2011, 05:50:55 PM
Hello there Forestry Man,  I am no blade expert by any means and therefore will only tell you what I use...I have used .042,  .043, and .050  all 1 1/2"...they all cut fine, but I am partial to the .050's ...what is common on one mill may not be common on another...Mills that run smaller engines tend to use the lighter gague blades...