iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log Turner

Started by 250quality, July 02, 2011, 09:50:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

250quality

Just wondering if anyone had any sort of plan for a 12 volt winch powered log turner like the Woodmizer style.
Just finished my 12 volt clamp system and wanted to continue before my motivation left.
Thanks

sst04

I would like to see pics of the 12 volt clamp system.

250quality

I put up a couple pics. You can also find them on here from another member as I copied his only mine is winch powered and his was manual.
Works great.

robnrob2

Here is a picture.

All 3 claw style turners work off one 3,000lb winch,,
cable is routed along by the track, toward the winch, then the 3 cables are buckeled together to the one cable, and winch pulls all 3 at once,, ya really only need one tho,,one claw,, the claws are weighted with window sash weights in the 2x2" square tubing, so gravity pulls them down..
I'm studying tho goin with a Hydraulic setup,, either a 2 plane, or a chain,,, both take the same amount of juice, and 2 sets of control valves,,just depends on the power pack that I get for it, and what I can cram in there with least amount of aggravation.

250quality

Sweet deal! Gonna get to work building one soon. Tonight I gotta finish my band brake system.
Can't seem to get them big wheels to stop turning no how when the clutch is disengaged.
Been sawing too long with the blade always turning. Not as brave in my old age I guess.

250quality

Thank you to all! After 2 more strategically placed pins and a brake system I am happy to say my mill finally stops after 15 seconds of coasting.
Pretty sure this will add some life to my blades as they are no longer permanently in motion.
Now onto the log turner.
Funny how sucess makes you feel like trying something else.
Even found a rattle I never new about now that I can hear the ol diesel purr.
Thanks again
Brian

robnrob2