iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

TJ 230 clutch help

Started by madmari, June 30, 2011, 04:05:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

madmari

Lost clutch today, right after things got going good. Whole nother story there.

Anybody got any pointers or help with doing a clutch?. I've never done one before and need to get back in business quickly.

Got alot of squealing prior to clutch failure, which I assumed was the throwout bearing.

Any ideas?
I know why dogs stick thier head out the car window.

doghunter

madmari;
which 230 do you have a.b.c.d.? 230d no really big deal pull hood, firewall, floorboard, short upper drive shaft,batteries,grease hose to throwout bearing, hang comealong from top of cab [we run a chain back to the arch to support it ]remove bolts holding reverser box to bell housing slide it back and your looking at the clutchremove pressure plate mounting bolts gradually and evenly and you have it  out. remove and surface the flywheel check flywheel ring gear and your ready to go back just reverse the order of disassembly i like to put never-sieze on the transmission splines for lube and red locktite on the flywheel bolts  just dont force anything with bolts these usually go together pretty easy if everything is lined up
good luck
doghunter

madmari

Thanks Doghunter. I'm counting on your experience to make this go as smooth as possible. Mine is a 230D, so it is fairly straight forward.
  Seems like everything I do turns into a project......I should work for the gov't!

lumberjack48

Don't forget pilot bearing or brass bushing n center of fly wheel, take your time, easy job
Third generation logger, owner operator, 30 yrs felling experience with pole skidder. I got my neck broke back in 89, left me a quad. The wife kept the job going up to 96.

doghunter

right on lumberjack48