iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Verifying gassification in the EC-2300

Started by buckgrunt, June 24, 2011, 05:13:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

buckgrunt

I am new to the FF and I have enjoyed reading postings about wood burning.  I recently finished my first year with my E-classic 2300 (wood only).  I am surprised to hear about some of the problems associated with this unit as I had a very good experience with mine this past winter.  I did a spring clean up and found no creosote build-up behind the solenoids. I did find a warp/crack in my fusion combuster (FC) and my dealer immediately replaced it with an upgrade and I installed it. Does anyone have any experiences with the new FC ?

Also throughout this past winter, I found an easy way to check for gassification.  While the unit is running (high or low), I simply remove the rear chimney access cover and I place an ear real close to the opening.  If I hear that beautiful roaring sound, gassification is going on. This is always followed by the heat waves coming out of chimney stack......

doctorb

Buckgrunt -

First, welcome to the Forum.  It's a great place to hone your OWB skills and get help troubleshooting.  I, too, have a 2300.  Mine has been through 2 full winters to date.

Never tried checking gasification that way.  I listen with the door open and the door switch depressed, so the fans are on.  You can hear the stove move into gasification mode as the coals heat up.  I do this after loading.  I am sure that you are hearing the roar of gasification with your method.  Aren't you a little worried about burning your ear off? :D ;D
My father once said, "This is my son who wanted to grow up and become a doctor.  So far, he's only become a doctor."

stumper

Welcome.

Burning your ear off.  Doc, I am surprised you put a laughing face instaed of $$$.   ;D