iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Help me find out more about my Dad.

Started by Jeff, April 19, 2011, 02:47:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff

A couple weeks ago I posted a photo of a ribbon that belonged to my Great Grandfather. At the same time I came across a few possession that belonged to my dad.  I've had this small box marked Air Medal since my dad died, but I've known of its existence all of my life in his desk drawer.  I know very little of my Dad's war experiences, and some things I am just beginning to learn. In this box are some medals, but there is also a little statuette that I always thought was Mary. I do remember Dad saying when I was young that while he was flying missions over Germany out of England a woman had given it to him after he had had some sort of meeting with her. He told me her name, and I heard him mention her name a few times, but never let it register in my memory who she was. I tired to remember a couple weeks ago when coming upon the box again, but couldn't. This morning I awoke from a dream and had the name. Her name was Clare Boothe Luce. http://www.lkwdpl.org/wihohio/luce-cla.htm