iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

tuning echo cs-600

Started by jdiesel, March 21, 2011, 12:52:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdiesel

just bought a new echo cs600 from home depot, i know no dealer backing, but i could not get the local dealer to exept the home depot gift card i had ;). i am a good mechanic and not worried about it, but everyone says they need to be richened up a little for peak performance. will i need to remove the stops to get the mixture far enough? tune them like a boat motor, rich untill they run rough and then lean them till they are smooth? figured a little insight will save me some time this weekend when i break it in. thats another question, leave it at stock settings for a tank or two to "break it in"? or tune it right out of the box? any help would be great, thanks.

John Mc

Here's a link to some saw maintenance directions on Madsen's web site. The tuning section includes an audio file which is useful when tuning by ear.

http://www.madsens1.com/mnu_sawmaint.htm

If in doubt, better to run it a bit rich, especially during break in, than to run it lean. You may find the limiter caps on the adjustment screws prevent you from richening it up enough... they set it that way to be sure it meets the EPA specs. If needed the limiter caps can be reset (or on some saws "modified" with a pocket knife).

John Mc
If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.   - Abraham Maslow

miking

Mine didn't need a lot of adjustment from the start. Basically, I just went by the owner's manual specs. I did pull the limiter caps out in case I needed to richen it up later but so far I don't think it needs it.
Echo CS530, 600 and 680 chainsaws, SRM410U brushcutter, PB500 blower and PP265 power pruner. Also a Stihl 192c for the lil' stuff.

John Mc

Quote from: miking on March 22, 2011, 06:15:58 PM
Mine didn't need a lot of adjustment from the start.