iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood priceing?

Started by MWS, February 25, 2011, 07:24:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MWS

I am very new to all of this, and find myself very lost..  Being on the other end (the consumer) and getting my lumber at the store, I am now at a loss to know what to charge for cutting someone some wood. Where would i look for that kind of pricing for the Finger Lakes Region of N.Y.  I am using a manual wood mizer  LT15.  I know that it not a production model  and as of now I charge .21 cents a ft.  I also have no idea a log go's for.
    Any suggestion where to start looking? 

junkorgem

Sounds real,.... inexpensive to me. I gotta price for sawing butternut for .26 per board foot. I would think it would depend on the difficulty of the job. I've never sawed though.

sdunston

welcome to the FF MWS. I am a little east of you but the amish are selling hemlock for 50 cents a BF so that kinda sets the price around here. Log prices vary, the last I checked hemlock was around 200 bucks a MBF. I think the going rate around here for sawing others logs is 25-30cents a BF. Check the fourm extras, there is a lot of good info there on calculating BF

Sam
WM LT28, American fordge 18x8 planer,Orange and white chainsaws, NH TC33, IHT6 dozer, IH-H tractor and alot of other stuff that keeps me agravated trying to keep running

Magicman

I'm not in your market area, but I can say Welcome MWS, to the Forestry Forum.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

tyb525

Charge what you need to make the amount of money you want...

I personally charge $.35 per board foot, but I've seen prices from $.15 to $.50. Kind of like the saying, you get what you pay for, don't worry too much about your price, if you do a good job you'll get customers.