iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What would you do with 50+ large digger pine logs?

Started by danda, February 25, 2011, 02:02:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

danda

Hello everyone.  I'm new here.  My name is Dan.  I am an amateur, so please take it easy on me.  I found this site while googling for information about digger pine and what uses it may have.  Y'all seem quite knowledgeable, so I'm asking here first.

I live on a ranch on California.  We have a lot of digger pine, as well as some live oak and white oak.   The digger pine kind of takes over though, along with the brush.

About 18 months ago, a gentleman with some dozers and big chainsaws approached us with a deal whereby he would cut a bunch of these to make some more pasture for us, and the logs would go to some sort of animal habitat improvement project.  A government project of some sort.   Well he did the work, and I suppose he got paid, and they took some logs, but there are still a whole bunch more, stacked in piles.Most 15" to 30" diameter.

At this point, I am wondering what my options are if we get stuck with these logs.  I really hate to see them go to waste!

One thing I have considered would be to have the logs milled, or maybe even buy a little bandsaw mill myself.  But I'm dubious about using the pine for lumber as I've read it is quite knotty and very prone to twisting.  Anyone have experience with this?

Another idea would be to build a pole parn.... those are pretty big poles though.   And I'm not sure if they would need to be treated or what......?

I am also wondering if we can make any money off of them. Is there any market for these?

Is it a problem that they have been sitting so long?

Of course I plan to discuss the matter further with the gentleman who did the work before I do anything, but I'm hoping to educate myself here a little first.   And of course we have many more trees as well, so if I knew there was a market that could factor into my thinking.