iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

.325 chain

Started by justincase, February 20, 2011, 07:57:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

justincase

anybody seen bad batch's of chain? I have been breaking .325 stihl chain left and right. Dealer says cold weather and hot bar running in snow. I don't believe it but anything is possible. First one he said rakers were too aggressive but then I brought some in that I hadn't even filed yet. Broke two yesterday that the dealer repaired day before. Running them on a 2152 jonsered and 353 husky. Any thoughts on going to 3/8 chain. Hate to unless it will make a big difference. I probably have broken 10 chains this month and never had this situation before. Thanks for advice.

clww

I've run .325 063 for years on my 028 and 290 with 16" and 20" bars. I've broken 2 chains total, although I'm not a pro logger with 5 day a week use each year.
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

Al_Smith

Something is amiss with that cutting system other than bad chain .First of all a 3 cubic inch saw doesn't have enough power to pull apart a chain  aggressive or not  unless it snagged on something at speed .

If I were a betting man my money would be on a badly worn rim or spur whatever it is .Now I've seen such things believe it or not of some running mismatched bars that will break a chain .I never figure out how they got them to work at all though .

I've never ever broken a chain in over 40 years and hope I never do .If I did though I'd not have broken ten before I kind of investigated the cause .Dang that could hurt you . :o

justincase

This happening on two different saws using the same chain. The 353 is about two months old, original bar and sprockets and the 2152 is a couple years old with just one replaced tip. Bars are in good shape dressed by me or dealer. There is no rhyme or reason to when it happens. Limbing, felling and bucking. Yesterday I just touched a hemlock limb with no pressure and chain broke.