iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need advice about logging a 5 acre heavily wooded lot in South Jersey

Started by juliegal, February 16, 2011, 05:04:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

juliegal

Hello,
I am totally new to all of this and I need advice on logging a lot that my Mom owns in south jersey 20 min from Philly.  The lot is wooded with trees of many species and sizes... probably 10+ are more than 200 feet high with huge diameters.  I would think that this wood could be useful to someone and therefore be worth something? The lot is just under 5 acres and is totally covered with trees... we need to clear it to get it sold - She has done this with land in upstate NY- but there are mills near there... I am not sure about NJ- how can I find this out? Would someone log a lot that size and how much could you get out of it? Who do you contact to find out who might do this in that area if I don't get lucky and find someone here?  If we can't sell it would it be feasible to have someone cut it and then use it for a house we are building in the South over 1000 miles away- possibly as wood for cabinets, ceilings maybe even flooring?
Thanks in advance for the help!

SwampDonkey