iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Carb won't suck fuel???

Started by shinnlinger, February 15, 2011, 02:29:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shinnlinger

HI,

I have an old Partner f-55 that will start up if you pour gas in the carb but won't stay running.  I replaced the fuel line and filter and can now see that no fuel comes up the line to the carb.  This particular model tilltson has no vacuum line like I have seen on other models and I don't understand how the carb generates a suction w/out a line as I am no mechanic.

Any thoughts on what to do next?

Dave
Shinnlinger
Woodshop teacher, pasture raised chicken farmer
34 horse kubota L-2850, Turner Band Mill, '84 F-600,
living in self-built/milled timberframe home

Al_Smith

The impulse comes out of a little hole in the intake manifold instead of a line like a majority of more modern saws .

More than likely the carb needs rebuilt but if somehow the impulse hole gets blocked by a gasket shifting or improperely installed it won't work at all .

shinnlinger

Thanks Al,

That makes sense and I will check that.  How hard is a carb like that to rebuild?  I don't mind giving it a go, but am I out of my league? WHere to buy a kit?

Dave
Shinnlinger

weimedog

Quote from: Al_Smith on February 15, 2011, 02:56:56 PM
The impulse comes out of a little hole in the intake manifold instead of a line like a majority of more modern saws .

More than likely the carb needs rebuilt but if somehow the impulse hole gets blocked by a gasket shifting or improperely installed it won't work at all .

Ditto ditto ditto! can't tell you how many times a mystery ends up being the impulse hole or line. One other thing is the tank vent...that's caused a few head aches for folks as well.
Husqvarna 365sp/372xpw Blend, Jonsered 2171 51.4mm XPW build,562xp HTSS, 560 HTSS, 272XP, 61/272XP, 555, 257, 242, 238, Homelite S-XL 925, XP-1020A, Super XL (Dad's saw); Jonsered 2094, Three 920's, CS-2172, Solo 603; 3 Huztl MS660's (2 54mm and 1 56mm)

Al_Smith