iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

tie logs

Started by countryjonez, February 13, 2011, 05:19:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

countryjonez

do any of you guys cut tie logs for a main portion of your milling income. i have 87 acres of woodland,and getting ready to get my first sawmill.i am a contractor by trade,but would realy like to be making sawdust for at least the summer months.i was wondering what would be a reasonable goal to set for a monthly total of 9"7" tie logs? it will be me and my best friend.we will be using an lt 10.  we will be dragging all the logs with my old 79 ford flatbed and winches.i have a local driver that said he will haul as many as i can cut for 2 dollars each.i have no experience sawing,but i grew up in the woods cutting firewood and working in construction all my life and have been researching this for quite awhile. just trying to give you a picture so you can give me some advice,and help to avoid some pitfalls.
If God be for us who can be against us ?

tyb525

Just fyi, it can be tough making money cutting ties only.

If you can find a market for the side lumber (boards you cut to get to the tie) it might make things a little easier. Also, make sure you check with your tie buyer about their standards.

And I've heard horror stories about getting stuck with a contract, where you must produce X amount of ties in X amount time. If something happens to where you can't get it done soon enough, good luck. You may get a better price with a contact, but with just an LT10 I wouldn't risk it.

One last note, while it could probably be done, I think it might be more profitable to cut lumber from the logs rather than ties. That is, if there is a market for it in your area. The LT10 isn't a high production machine, so it's all about quality over quantity, you have to get more money out of each cut to make up for lower production capabilities.