iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Overdue introduction and some milling pics

Started by jaythecelt, February 12, 2011, 12:59:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jaythecelt

I've been on the forum for a little while and posted a couple of times... I just thought I would introduce myself and include a couple of pics of what I've been up to.

I live on 20+ wooded acres in Beaver County, PA - I work in the software industry, but would much rather be building stuff out of wood!  I did almost all of the interior work in my log house (but didn't lay any logs), and I'm interested in building furniture, especially rustic furniture.  Since I was a kid, I always wanted to mill my own wood (weird kid) and make my own furniture. After nearly fifty years, I decided to do something about it. 

So a couple of years ago I got into chainsaw milling and have been building up the tools I need since.  This isn't my business, and I don't need a lot of wood - just enough to keep me busy and off the streets - so this is a small scale operation.  I have a Stihl MS390 and MS650, an Alaskan Small Log mill.  The MS390 works ok, but the MS650 mills at least twice as fast.  I also use a Granberg ripping chain.

Two things I don't like about CSM is having to work low to the ground and all the rigging needed to make the first cut... so I built this thing I call the Micro-Mill.  Its basically a large, jig to get the log off the ground and some adjustable 'scaffolding' to hang the mill from for the first cut.

Here's a picture of the Micro-Mill:

The Alaskan Small Log Mill rides along 10' rails for the first cut:

A couple of pics after the first cut on a log:

The three 'goal posts' that hold the rails can be adjusted for height and have a fine adjustment for level.  The can also be folded out of the way:

This whole thing works pretty well ... with the MS650 I can cut an 8' board in about two minuets.  The finish is good right off the mill and usually needs only a couple of passes through the planer.