iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

THE BEST UTILITY KNIFE EVER!!!

Started by ASUDesign, February 05, 2011, 07:20:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ASUDesign

Hello, I'm a junior level design student at Appalachian State University, we are currently working on designing trade specific folding lock back knives for an Irwin sponsored project and i really would appreciate your insights on what the professional tradesman needs. Below I've posted a small questionnaire please answer as honestly as possible:

1) What do you specialize in? (i.e. rough-framing, finish carpentry etc.) List as many as apply.

2) How long have you been in your trade?

3) How much cross over do you have between trades?

4) What kind of utility knife do you use the most?

5) What do like most and least about you current utility knife?

6) What do you look for most in a utility knife?

7) How important is price when purchasing utility knife?

8 ) What type of utility knife do you prefer the most? (Fixed blade, retractable, or folding, etc) Why?

9) How many utility knives do you own?

10) How often do you purchase utility knives?

11) Rate how essential the utility knife is in your trade? (1 2 3 5 6 7 8 9 10 )

12) What other similar tools do you use?

13) How do you use your utility knife while working in your trade (What specifically are you cutting and what techniques are you using as a framer specifically)?

14) How often do you use your utility knife outside of your trade (at home or in another trade such a plumbing)?

Feel Free to ad any other comments about your process and your experience with utility knives.
Thanks for your time.

Brad_bb

Hmm, I want to help.  I do timberframing as a hobby, not my job. I also do other wood working, but again, not as my job. Should I answer the survey?
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

shinnlinger

Oh what the hey....