iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Grooving the back of hardwood flooring

Started by Tullivor, February 04, 2011, 11:56:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tullivor

Hey all
I have 350 bf of maple to make into tongue and groove flooring.  The boards are 8 - 10 feet in length, about 1" thick rough both sides, and 4 inches wide.  This is a first time project for me.  I work in the kitchen business so have experience with woodworking.  The first step I am going to do tomorrow is plane it down so I have good 2 sides keeping it as thick as possible, I hope to have 3\4 when done but I think it will end up being lighter.  Then I plan to get a straight edge on all my boards, so hopefully I have atleast 3 inches of face before tongueing it.  After that I was thinking I should put 2 round 1/8 deep grooves in the back, then running it all through the shaper doing the tongue edges first, groove second.  And after I have all that done I was thinking I would put it all through the drum sander and sand the face with 220 grit.  I do not have to put a finish on it, the person I am doing it for will do the installing and finishing.
Well that's my plan but like I said I have never made my own flooring before so I really have no idea if I am going about it in the right way?  What are the grooves in the back for, air or cupping or something else?  Do I need them?  I am also having a hard time finding tongue and groove flooring bits for a shaper using 3/4, 1, or 1 1/4 inch spindles that are not way overly priced?  I mean I do not want to have to put the car up for sale just to afford tongue and groove bits for 350 feet of flooring!!!!!! :D
Thanks for any input you can offer
Jeff

terrifictimbersllc

http://www.amanatool.com/shaper/flooring-shapercutters.html

http://www.amazon.com/Amana-SC450-Flooring-Nail-Slot/dp/B00286RLP6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=industrial&qid=1296896060&sr=8-1