iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How do I stop the logs from moving?

Started by wayne186, January 22, 2011, 10:26:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wayne186

Hi,

I am very new to this sawmill thing.. as I stand here with a huge grin on my face admiring my Lucas 618 swingblade mill that I bought 2 or 3 years ago; (I never had the time to run it until now).. I have been practising and really getting the hang of it but one thing is bugging me..

how do I stop the logs from shifting while I am cutting?  The mill is setup on a concrete pad and I have four wooden sleepers bolted to the floor perpendicular to the sliding rails of the mill.  I was using some sliding clamps to hold the logs in place but the last log I put on there crushed the poor things :)

I need something that is low profile (an inch max) so I can recover as much lumber as possible from a log and it can't be metal because I don't want to screw up any blades.. I though of wedges but how do you stop these from moving?  I don't want to pay a small fortune for any kind of system so if any of you have any ideas I would much appreciate it.. pictures or videos work very well for me :) I am a very visual kind of guy :)

thanks

Wayne

sgschwend

How about wood wedges, won't hurt to hit them with the saw.

I have been told some folks use aluminum which won't damage the saw.  I haven't seen what these look like, so I would be guess:  a 3X3/4" bar, with a sharpened end, hammered into the log over your crossbars.  Then spike or screw these down. 

Steve Gschwend

sjgschwend@gmail.com

timbatrader

I have a different approach to the same problem
I use wedges and some large steel z  nail shaped dogs  to cut the log down to about the half way point then flip the log over flat side down to the bearers and start cutting from the top again generally I can get away without  holding it down for the second half as the weight on the flat surface is enough.