iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question

Started by Buchanan, January 17, 2011, 03:47:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buchanan

Ok, so Im new to the forum. But this is a Newb question, I was wondering, are 6x6 beam that I can get from the lumber yard, are these ok to use as a "practice" piece? Im not new to working with tools, however, I am new to this type of constrution methods. I have read and reread the the Timber Frame Construction by Jack Sobon, I feel that Im ready to start working making joints, but want to work the layout and marking and cutting on a sample piece first. So, that is my question. Any helpful input please.

Jim_Rogers

Sure, but the 6x6 from a lumber yard maybe only 5 1/2" x 5 1/2"......
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

ljmathias

Welcome and have fun at it- lots of work to get something made using timber framing.  Why not start with a sawhorse?  About as simple as you can get for something other than just two pieces of wood joined together and a set of heavy duty sawhorses is a great tool for actually doing larger pieces of structures... plus, the world won't come to an end if (when) you screw up a joint or a measurement and have to "modify" it some.   :D :D

Oh, and you really don't need plans for something simple like that- I bought a set for a sawhorse way back when I started doing some TF work- waste of money although if your hesitant about getting started on something like this, the plans show you step by step (or at least what each piece should like look and how to compensate for wood's inherent properties... :)

Lj
LT40, Long tractor with FEL and backhoe, lots of TF tools, beautiful wife of 50 years plus 4 kids, 5 grandsons AND TWO GRANDDAUGHTERS all healthy plus too many ideas and plans and not enough time and energy

jamesamd

Do not buy pressure treated lumber, nasty stuff.
If You only want to try Your hand at creating joints, buy a couple of eight footers and cut them