iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another New Member

Started by Peach James, January 01, 2011, 01:15:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peach James

I guess these go here... :D

I'm James, from Shirley, BC.  (near Victoria).  Mostly, I got to here from an interest in old iron, and having played in the trees out back a little bit.  I started in ~1990 or so, with electric chain saw, and then advanced back to a bow saw for a while.   Current, I've a 353 Husky, and a near total inability to sharpen it right.  (which would be funny, if I hadn't spent enough time sharpening lathe bits and drills...)
I'm a Marine Engineer in the Canadian Forces as a full time job, have two sons (5 years & 9 months old), wife, and play with steam for fun.  For those of you who are fellow islanders, I'm heavily involved at Vancouver Island Model Engineers. 

My buddy out here used to make his beer money by doing firewood amongst other stuff, so I get/got roped in to some extent.  (chainsaw, splitting maul, pickup truck kind of logging...).  Mechanically, well...it's fun to toy with kit.  I'm interested in high line, having some understanding of its limits.  If I wanted to be practical, there's lots of tracked & wheeled hydraulic equipment around here.  I have use of a Fordson Major fitted with a JCB style conversion to bucket & hoe, as long as I fix it when I break it, and there is lots of other stuff around...but it isn't quite the same if  you are doing it for firewood & booze money, to be using modern kit seems to be kind of a cheat to me...otherwise, I'd be buying my firewood for $150/cord, split & delivered.

Since I'm busy as a 1 armed paperhanger with full time work & two sons, I haven't had a lot of time to do "fun" things.  I've got a little more than 5 years to go before I retire from the CF, so...(and then Daniel, the older boy, will be old enough to be useful, not a hinderance).