iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stupid Question From Newby

Started by plaindriver, December 26, 2010, 04:26:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

plaindriver

Hi, Im Tom. Im a pilot by trade, but about to retire within 6 mos. I am reloc to middle Tn, on 5 ac. Want to get a band saw and mill my own lumber. I know almost less than zero, but am wondering, what does everyone do with their sawdust?? Some of the more ambitious millers seem to generate a substantial ammt. Thanks, tom
Kubota L4600 DT w/FEL, John Deere 750 4WD w/FEL, PH Digger,RotoTiller,Box Scraper,Disc;16, 18, 20" chainsaws;Troy Built 27T splitter; table saw, radial arm saw,turning lathe, chipper, small backhoe, Isuzu NPR 14' stakeside diesel truck; a wife that still likes me.

fishpharmer

Welcome to Forestry Forum Tom! 

I put my sawdust in the garden.  But I don't make much.
Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader

The reason a lot of people do not recognize opportunity is because it usually goes around wearing overalls looking like hard work. --Tom A. Edison

Bibbyman

Welcome to the Forum.

Most of us are not nearly ambitious enough to produce a lot of sawdust with a bandmill.  We saw most days and do it for a living and haven't generated all that much sawdust.

Some of our sawdust goes to a pig farmer to compost dead pigs.  Another farmer gets some to put in his milking stalls.  A lady up the road gets some to put in her outdoor riding arena.

This picture was taken in July of '08.   We've been working on this pile since 93'.  I comes and goes.  Right now it's a little higher than pictured.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

woodman58

Here is a site I came accross. It seems like a good way to get rid of saw dust. From to vidios, it doesn't look like it takes very much saw dust.