iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

heating circle mill blade

Started by leastofthese, December 12, 2010, 05:29:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

leastofthese

hello, i'm new to milling and i have a meadows portable mill. it seemed to be sawing fine and the other day it got so hot it dished in to the log side. dished so bad it was rubbing the blade guard on the inside. it turned out i had lost all my lead, so i corrected that problem, but now it seems to heat pretty quick. i was sawing some big butt cuts and thought tension might be causing some of the problem. so i went to some small logs, 12" to 20" ( the butts were like 30" or so) it seemed like it was doing better, then started heating up again. i did sharpen teeth also. so i got a couple of questions, how do you tell if you shanks are worn( spilling dust in the cut, i see it coming out between the blade and the log)?  and how much heat or how many times heated til i need to get it rehammered. i forgot to mention its heating at the eye area. carriage and husk are connected so i don't think there has been a whole lot of misalignment between the two. and like i said it was running fine. any advice would be appriceated.

Ron Wenrich

A saw doc will tell you that heating a blade just once may be enough to cause it to need hammering.  But, that hasn't been my experience.

How did you lose your lead?  Are you sure you have enough right now?  Sometimes when your saw dishes, you might nick your headblocks, and that will damage your teeth on one side.  That takes a lot of filing to get rid of the problem.  What may be happening is that you damaged your teeth on the log side, so your saw will lead out.  The saw will always lead towards the longest side of the tooth.  This opens your saw and allows your log to rub against the eye, and that heats the saw.  This is my best guess of what has happened.  It only takes a few teeth to get the saw to pull.