iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Home Owner chainsaws???

Started by rbhunter, December 02, 2010, 09:18:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rbhunter

Since I have moved to Missouri several years ago I have not had a place to cut my own firewood. My wife works with a guy who has some hedge that he wants cut in his pasture. I have an old Craftsman chainsaw that worked well for many years cutting wood and heating my home for over ten years in Kansas but it has finally died.

Since I am not sure how long I will have a place to cut I am trying to decide on what chainsaw to get for a cheaper price. I have checked reviews on different saws but some of the reviewers are obviously biased and some of them have very little knowledge of chainsaws and how to use them. I am no expert.

I am looking for suggestions. I am looking at possibly a homeowner grade stihl or husky or possibly a husqvarna. I have also considered even a Craftsman. From the reserach on the internet I am not sure if there is much difference between the homeowner grade chainsaws by Stihl and Husqvarna and the Craftsman chainsaws. There is even mention of husqvarna, craftsman, poulan all being under the same company now called American Yard Products.. I am not sure what is true since I have learned that you cannot believe everything on the internet.

The top pick so far is the Stihl 250 for $299 but I am also wondering about the Craftsman 50cc for $199 since somewhere on the web it was mentioned that the first three digits of the SN was the same as for the Husqvarna meaning it was made in the same factory as the husvarna (I am not sure if this is true or makes much difference). I have also found an echo cs-400-18 it has a 40 cc motor and a 18" bar and also has a five year warranty for $299. Husqvarna 46cc 18" bar for $319.

I would like to stay under $300 or just above and will use it for personnel firewood. I know I would get a stihl if I was going to go for a higher grade saw. I am wanting to pay cash.